MexDFmagazine

News, features, and commentary from the biggest city in the Americas, Mexico City.

Behind the Scenes with Carmen Aub

By Darren M. Popik (disponible en español)

Carmen, as she appears in Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee

(MEXICO CITY) — The first time I met Carmen Aub, it didn’t take me long to realize this is one actress who’s going places.

And literally, she already has.

Born in Mexico City, Carmen spent the first part of her life here, before moving with her family to Miami when she was 12. On top of that, she’s also lived and worked in Bogotá.

She already has a number of impressive credits to her name, including telenovelas on Telemundo, MTV, and Televisa, and the new film, Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee (in theaters this Friday, October 26) in which she co-stars alongside the always popular Jaime Camil.

Added to that, this year she received her first TV award nomination (“Revelación Feminina”) at the Premios TVyNovelas.

First Impressions

When I first met Carmen, she had just finished wrapping up work on the Televisa telenovela, Esperanza del Corazón.

It was a sunny January afternoon, and I was sitting at a sidewalk table at one of the many cafés in the Condesa (whose name I shall refrain from mentioning), when an attractive girl with a radiant smile came over and at down next to me with her green tea frappuccino and her MacBook.

Hello, Carmen Aub.

I recognized her from her role as Greta on the hit MTV series, Niñas Mal. I have to say, there was something about her that captured my attention from the time I first saw that show. (And I suppose that’s why I continued to tune in each night.)

Ironically, Carmen and I had just crossed paths earlier that day at a different café, though we didn’t get the chance to chat at that time. But this occasion seemed like a good time to say hello.

As it turns out, we ended up chatting about what seemed like a million different things, including our experiences in Mexico and Bogotá, where I discovered we had both become fans of the Juan Valdez Café and what is still my favorite restaurant, Andrés Carne de Res. And on top of that, we were also neighbors (just a couple blocks apart, technically).

But, just who is this charming actress who I enjoyed chatting with so much? Let me give you a closer look.

In the Beginning

Carmen first took to the airwaves while in Miami, on Telemundo. After some smaller supporting roles, she was chosen for the role of Flor Cáceres on the telenovela ¿Dónde Está Elisa? It was a big break for her, gaining her a lot of attention.

Bogotá

Billboard for Niñas Mal.

Once her novela had finished, it wasn’t long before she was offered the chance to be part of the first telenovela to air on MTV Latin America. The show was Niñas Mal, and it meant another move – this time to Bogotá.

The chance to work on Niñas Mal came suddenly, and Carmen didn’t have a lot of time to prepare for the change of scenery. But for Carmen, the move wasn’t too difficult.

“I didn’t know that Colombians loved the Mexican culture so much,” she told me recently when we had the chance to catch up.

“I actually felt like home there.”

The show was a hit across Latin America, and has even made it to MTV Tr3s in the U.S.

After Niñas Mal, it was a case of “what’s old is new” for Carmen – a return to her hometown, Mexico City.

Mexico … Again

“Returning to Mexico was both exciting and scary,” she relates.

“But thanks to my friends, it was not that hard remembering how life is here.”

And apparently, the move suited Carmen just fine. Though Mexico City may not have all the things that Miami does — most notably, her mom, dad, and two sisters — it does have a lot that appeals to her. What does she like best about living in the DF?

“My tacos of course,” she recounts. “Reading scripts at any coffee place in the Condesa, and I love the Ecobici system! And my people … they’re awesome.”

But once she found herself back in Mexico, she also had the chance to go to a very different environment from the metropolis of Mexico City.

She had the chance to do a movie — a first for Carmen in her acting career — to be shot on location in the countryside of the southern state of Chiapas.

Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee

Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee

“Movies are soooo different from novelas!” she says. “From the time you have to figure out the character, to the number of scenes you shoot, to the director, and the way of acting is more natural.”

As for the experience on the set of Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee, I gathered from her comments that it was something that will stick with her for a long time.

“This was my first movie, and the story, the crew, and Chiapas made me love the experience. Chiapas is magic, even behind the scenes.”

(Editor’s Note: We’ll have more on the film this Friday, when it hits theaters.)

But with the film and telenovela out of the way, it wasn’t long before Carmen found herself with a new opportunity. And once again, it meant a return to a familiar place – Bogotá.

Back to Bogotá

Bogota happens to be the place where Fox decided to shoot a new comedy series, Exposos, for their new channel, MundoFox. And Carmen was chosen to be part of the cast.

“Exposos is my first comedy,” she says. “I had a great time filming. I was always laughing, and I think the audience will laugh a lot too.”

The series stars Roselyn Sánchez and Carlos Espejel, who play the part of a divorced couple who continue to live together for economic reasons. The experience of working with these two respected actors seems to have made quite an impact on Carmen.

“I learned so much from Roselyn and Carlos that I can’t wait to shoot my next comedy,” Carmen tells me.

The first thirteen episodes of the one-hour series are now in the can, but we’ll have to wait a few more months to see the show. MundoFox hasn’t yet announced an airdate for the series, but it’s expected to hit the air early in the new year.

And Back to Miami

With filming of Exposos completed, Carmen has returned to Miami, where she’s working on attaining her US citizenship, and is enjoying time with her family once again, while eagerly awaiting the release of her first film.

But as for life in South Florida, Carmen suggests that the diversity of Miami’s latino population has been an asset to her as she has moved around, be it in Colombia or even returning home to Mexico.

“Living in Miami got me used to Colombians, Venezuelans, Puerto Ricans, etc … I guess that helped me adapt easier in my nomadic life.

“I always try to take the best of every place I live in.”

That’s the sort of positive attitude that I picked up on when I first met Carmen, and it’s an enthusiasm that was still very much apparent in our most recent chat.

“Living in a place depends so much on the people that surround you,” she opines. And as she pointed out to me when speaking about Colombia, “Every time I go back, it’s different – it’s all about having fun!”

And just in case I wasn’t able to pick up on her zest for life and her career, she sums it up quite simply.

“I can tell you that I’m very happy.”

Does this surprise me? With everything going for her, not at all.

Twitter @darrenchannel

2 comments on “Behind the Scenes with Carmen Aub

  1. Pingback: Detrás de las Escenas con Carmen Aub « MexDFmagazine

  2. Pingback: Chiapas: The Heart of Coffee / El Corazón del Café « MexDFmagazine

Leave a Reply

